There is a mandatory removal of feces law through out the Outer Banks area.
Civil penalties for Violation of this law varies by township. Please clean up after your pet.

North Carolina State law requires pets
to have a current up-to-date Rabies tag. It is unlawful to fail to provide a collar or harness, with attached tag, which must be worn at all times.


Outer Banks & Currituck - Leash Laws


Each area has its own regulations concerning pets on the beach.
Leash law at National Parks requires leashes not to exceed six (6) feet in length.

Beaches of Currituck County

Leashes are required but there are no length requirements.

Town of Duck - 255-1234

Leash law requires leash not to exceed ten (10) feet in length. Pets are allowed to play unleashed on the beach under close supervision of owner. Year round pet-friendly beaches.

Town of Kill Devil Hills - 449-5300

Leash law requires leash not to exceed 10 ft. in length. From the hours of 9:00 am through 6:00 pm each day from May 15th through Sept. 15th each year, No dogs shall be allowed on town beaches, except those aiding a handicap person.

Town of Kitty Hawk - 261-3552

Leash law requires leash not to exceed 6 ft. in length between the hours of 10 am and 6 pm from Fri. before Memorial Day until the day after Labor Day. At all other times the leash may be extended, but must be retractable to 12 ft. Well trained dogs may be unleashed under close supervision of owner, not to exceed 30 ft. in distance between owner and dog.

Town of Manteo on Roanoke Island - 473-2133
Leash law requires leash not to exceed six (6) feet in length. Leashed pets are
allowed on the waterfront year round.

Town of Nags Head - 441-5508
Leash law requires leash not to exceed ten (10) feet in length. Leashed pets allowed on towns beaches year round.

Town of Southern Shores - 261-2394

Leash law requires leash not to exceed ten (10) feet in length. From May 15 to September 15 of each year, animals are prohibited on town beaches. Leash laws enforced remainder of year.

Hatteras Island - Dare County - Ocracoke Island - Hyde County

Large portions of Hatteras and Ocracoke Islands belong to the National Parks Service. The following statement was released:

“Your pets are welcome at Cape Hatteras National Seashore. Do keep them leashed and under control at all times. Pets are not allowed on designated swim beaches or in buildings. Please for your pets sake, do not leave them unattended. And, for other visitors sake, clean up after your pet.”








Our Services | Gallery | Girls | Boys | Available | Links l Pedigrees l News
Home | Contact Us | About Us l Rescue Dogs l Leash Laws

Copyright © 2006 Fayrwyne Pomeranians 11/28/2017

Fayrwyne Poms
Cell (252) 599-2695
For information please contact us
or fill out the Contact Us
form for more information.


Dare County Offices

Currituck County Offices

Cape Hatteras National Seashore

Outer Banks Visitors Bureau

Southern Shores

Town Of Kitty Hawk

Town of Kill Devil Hills

Town of Nags Head

designed by: LK Associates  -  Content Management by: That Girl Productions